The CANN project is a cross border environment project supported by the European Union’s INTERREG VA Programme, managed by the Special EU Programmes Body (SEUPB) which aims to improve the condition of protected habitats and to support priority species within Northern Ireland, the Border Region of Ireland and Scotland, allowing the region to meet key EU Biodiversity targets and ensure the future of these internationally important habitats and species.

One of the project’s objectives is to work with stakeholders, landowners and local communities to bring about positive environmental change, and to raise awareness of the value of these habitats and species. An Incentive Based Payments Scheme is in place for Sliabh Beagh, spread across the counties of Tyrone, Fermanagh, and Monaghan which has a number of designations including Special Area of Conservation (SAC), Special Protection Area (SPA), Area of Special Scientific Interest (ASSI) and Natural Heritage Area (NHA).

The Incentive Based Payments Scheme is for landowners within the eligible area to spend time engaging with the project on particular activities. It is capped at €12.40 per hour and the total amount per landowner is capped at 36 hours across the life of the project; that is, the total maximum that can be claimed by any one landowner is €446.40 over the lifetime of the CANN project.

The eligible area in Republic of Ireland is within the Natural Heritage Area, which occurs in the following townlands: 

Barratitoppy Upper, Bragan, Eshacrin, Eshnaglogh, Islands, Knockanearla, Knockballyroney, Stramackilroy. 

The eligible area in Northern Ireland is within the Area of Special Scientific Interest (ASSI) which occurs in the following townlands: 

Alderwood, Ashfield or Grange Mountain Bar; Ballymacan, Corleaghan, Corcloghy, Fardross Mountain, Glennoo, Kill, Mullynavale, Relessy. 

If you consider that you may be eligible to apply for the IBPS and to engage with the CANN project, please get in touch with Paul Sherlock, Conservation Assistant, CANN project, Monaghan County Council at or 0876419406.