The annual Tydavnet Community Centre draw took place on Sunday 15th December 2019, and as always the community enjoyed a welcome cup of tea, and a warm social space for the proceedings. At the outset, the Chairperson Marie McQuillan, thanked everyone who supported the draw which is the main fundraising vehicle of the centre each year, and she thanked Monaghan County Council for their generous grant which helps with additional upgrades. This year money was spent on replacing the delph in the centre for community events, 4 new doors  (firedoor, front, and 2 sides), signage for Pride of place, a new display unit, the floors were repolished and the interior walls painted, and a new sound system was also supplied. Tydavnet Drama Troupe also provided acoustic panels for the main hall. The centre is also fortunate to have 3 excellent caretakers – Michael John and Paudge are provided by the Rural Social Scheme, and Deirdre is funded by Tús. Marie thanked the committee and all the agencies who assist with the running of the Centre, and all who support the draw and the events in it.

Winners of the annual draw:

1st prize (€1,000) John McNally, Cappog, Ballinode

2nd prize (€300) Helen Keenan, Drumcoowoods, Tydavnet

3rd prize (€200) Patrick McClave, Mullaghmore West, Ballinode

4th prize (€100) Stephen McCarra, Agherakelton, Scotstown

5th prize (€100) MaryJo Earley, Beechgrove Lawns, Monaghan

6th prize (€100) Mary and Patsy McCaffrey, Cappog, Ballinode

7th prize (€100) Karen Murray, Knockatallon

8th prize (€100) Stephen McKenna, Sheetrim.