The annual Monaghan County Council Awards Ceremony took place in the Four Seasons Hotel, Monaghan on Monday 9th April 2018. This is the 14th year of the awards which recognise those individuals/groups in County Monaghan who, during 2017, have excelled in the following areas – Sport and Recreation; Arts & Culture; Youth; Community and Environment & Heritage. There were 38 nominees from a diverse example of all that is good in County Monaghan. Carmel Thornton was MC, and the awards were presented by Cllr Cathy Bennett, Cathaoirleach of Monaghan County Council, and Minister Heather Humphreys, Senator Robbie Gallagher and several other County Councillors were in attendance.

Among the local winners were: Bernie Sherry and the Health and Wellbeing team at Scotstown GAA for their “Make your Céilí” initiative; Marie McQuillan and the Tydavnet Village Community Centre committee; Seamus McCarvill from Tydavnet Tidy Towns, and Angelo McNally for his successes in the 2017 Irish Masters Athletics competitions.

The list of winners in the Community category are:

Bernie Sherry – Scotstown GAA Health and Wellbeing Committee

Deirdre Toal – Magherarney Car Park

Fáilte Isteach – tuition to refugees and migrants

Joshua Moore (aged 11), swim for cancer fundraising

Ann Treanor and Errigal Truagh Special Needs

Mae Murphy for her contribution to the Corcaghan/Threemilehouse area

Leslie Crawford – Monaghan Over 50’s Walk to Jog club

Tydavnet village Community Centre committee

Christina Weldon – Latton Community Games

Alice Creagh – Pound Hill/Killygoan

Special Needs Active Parents (SNAP)

Monaghan Public Participation Network

Laura Denny from the Moving On programme

Seamus McCarvill – Tydavnet Tidy Towns

Moving on Programme

Environment and Heritage:

Emyvale Tidy Towns for their Waters and Communities Success in Tidy Towns 2017


Brendan Carr – Coach of the County girls football team

ISPCC – Children’s Advisory Committee

Largy College Transition Year

Compass project

Aghabog Foroige

Arts and Culture:

Lorna Morgan-Sherry – O’Neill Pipe Band

Monaghan Arts Network

Mark McCormack, Castleblayney


Aaron Mulligan –  first player from the Monaghan/Cavan Football Partnership to receive an International call-up

Joseph Loughlin – motorcyclist

Aimee Joe Kierans – athlete

Sam Moffett – motorsport

Emma O’Hanlon- Geary – athlete

Amy Mulligan – basketball

Blackwater Steelers Basketball club

Michelle Reinhardt McCabe – victory in the 100m sprint event at the 21st World Transplant Games in Malaga

Donna Evans – success in European Masters athletics

Denise Toner – European Masters Indoor Athletics Championships

Aoibheann McCormack – athlete

Una McMahon – success in National Masters Championships

Angelo McNally – success in 2017 Irish Masters

James McQuaid, aged 11, Glaslough Harriers athlete