There was a full house in Tydavnet Village Community Centre on Easter Sunday morning for the launch of a very exciting and ambitious project for the village – the provision of off road car parking which would provide for church ceremonies, school drop off and pick ups, village events, and increase safety of all motorists and patrons in the village. The launch was facilitated by Tydavnet Tidy Towns group who have secured grant funding for the two part project from Clár and LEADER.

Planning the project has been ongoing since 2009, and proposed works include the removal and replacement of the cut stone wall along the graveyard lane (this project started in early January and is being carried out by Pat Denning, Asphalt & Civil work Contractors), and the provision of a new car and bus park in the field to the rear of Tydavnet chapel, with provision for exit onto the public road by way of the existing, but widened, “Graveyard Lane”. The project will also include the provision of wheelchair accessible ramps and disability parking.

The removal and relocation of the cut stone wall on the “Graveyard Lane” cost €37,798.50; €27,000 of this cost was borne by Clár funding from the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht. Phase 2 of the planned works which is the provision of the car park has received approval for 75% of funding from LEADER (subject to successful tendering), the complete cost of the car park is expected to be in the range of €200.000. A shortfall in the cost of both projects to be raised by the community is expected to be in the region of €50 – 60,000.


The project is expected to go to tender in the next 2 weeks, and  will be uploaded on to the eTender website to ensure maximum exposure to tendering opportunities. According to official guidelines, the lowest viable tender must be selected by the Tidy Towns group. Works are expected to commence in June, and be completed for the resumption of the new school year in September.

The launch event was introduced by Gerard Sherlock, and he spoke of the proud tradition of community spirit and self help in the community – the work of the Tidy Towns group, the Tydavnet sewerage scheme, village walls, history and tug o’war monuments, the annual Christmas Tree and Santa party, and Tydavnet Community Centre are all testament to this – and he praised the committees and commitment which enabled progress like this. Seamus McCarville introduced the structure of the committee undertaking this project and the scrutiny and oversight which is a vital part of the endeavour. He also thanked Tydavnet Drama Troupe for getting the fundraising effort off the ground with a substantial donation of €1,100 from their recent production of “Moll”.  A question and answer session followed which clarified any issue pertaining to the project.

The first phase of the fundraising project is a direct appeal to locals to support the project. An information leaflet and map has been delivered to 500 houses in the community, along with an envelope to return donations. If you wish to donate but have not received a funding pack,  the committee will be in Tydavnet Community Centre on Sunday 8th April and Sunday 15th April from 11am to noon to facilitate donations, and details of the bank account will be available later this week so that people can arrange to transfer money to the Tidy Towns account if that is more convenient. There is an added financial incentive for individuals who donate over €250 – the tidy towns group (Registered Charity number 20163563) can claim a refund of tax paid on that donation, which could amount to an extra €112.33 for the charity. If a company makes a donation of over €250 in the year, the company can claim a tax deduction as if the donation was a trading expense, so it’s win win for all! It’s a great project for the village – your support is appreciated.

Car park committee: Chairperson, Seamus McCarvill; Secretary, Peter Cavanagh; Treasurers, Ben McCrudden and Martin Connolly; Committee: Adrienne Kearns, Fiona Coll and Damian Eanetta.

Planning oversight committee: Ben McCrudden, Niall McKenna, Emmet Sherry, Conor Casey.

Finance oversight committee: Caroline McNally, Rev Stephen Joyce, Mary McQuaid, Gerard Sherlock.